Monday, 11 July 2016

Booker Regionals prize giving

We were very lucky this week, not only with the weather but also in having Nils and Tim on the case setting tasks which made the very best of the windows of opportunity available and enabling competitors to enjoy their week. The weather ran out on Friday but we had 6 contest days. On Sunday Nils struggled hard to find a final gap in the clouds but in the end we moved to the clubhouse for champagne and prize giving.

Richard began by thanking our generous sponsors - Hayward Aviation, NavBoys and Sailplane & Gliding - who had provided so many prizes that there were enough to go to 8th place. The results were as follows:

1st - Jim White - trophy, champagne, a subscription to SeeYou, Runway HD and Aerolack

Congratulations Jim

2nd - George Hunter - a subscription to SeeYou, Aerolack, G Dale's book 'The Soaring Engine'
3rd - Denis Campbell - a subscription to SeeYou, Aerolack, G Dale's book 'The Soaring Engine'
4th - Nils Wedi - large model glider
5th - Geoff Lyons - medium model glider
6th, 7th, 8th - Nick Jennings, Steve Williams, Simon Vardigans - small model glider

The How / Why award was given jointly to Alex O'Keefe and Andy Monk for flying the week in the K21s - they received subscriptions to S&G

Sticking together

And last but by no means least, the Good Spirit award was given to Ashley Birkbeck for carrying on despite unwelcoming landouts and other misfortunes, he received a copy of G Dale's book.

Still smiling
Richard also thanked all the members who worked hard to make the comp such a success:

The Regionals Organising Group and Airfield Tidy Up crew: William Parker, Adrian Hegner, Bob Sinden, Bob Smith, Chris Collett, Geoff Tabbner, Graham Morfey, Henry Ross, Jane Moore, Jeremy Gilbey, Jim White, John Herman, John Hubberstey, John Otty, Nick Jennings, Rovert Turner, Symeon Economou, Nick Hoare

Control: Bob Smith, Henry Ross, Jane Moore, Chris Arnold, Bob Sinden, Graham Morfey

Met: Nils Wedi

Scoring: Pete Wyld

Deputy Director / Tasks: Tim Scott

Two seater instructors: Alex and Andy

Tug pilots: Sam, Sean, Robert Turner, Bob Davey, Jim Roland

Office staff: Shelagh, Chris, Callum Harris

Evening events: John Hubberstey

Briefing facilities: Roger Neal and the Army Reserve Centre staff

Cadets: Callum Harris, Filip Livancic, Jamie Driver, Louis Mattey, Alice Birkbeck, Michael Otty, Samuel Husband, Maddi Roberts

Airways Aero Association, Wycombe ATC and the Duty Crew

Jim White then thanked Richard for his hard work as Comp Director.

Roll on next year!

No comments: